Filipinos are no stranger to racetrack. We’ve seen top racers like motocross champ Glenn Aguilar, Jovie Saulog, Butch Chase, and late National Superbike Champion Maico Buncio competing in a highly competitive two-wheel sports. 


Recently, Tanay-based riders Herbert Lopez and Mark Djereck Ondillo took podium after winning in the second leg of the annual Eneos Philippine Motorsports Championships held at the Clark International Speedway in Pampanga.

Just like other local two-wheel race, the goal is to develop top quality grassroots riders in the country.

Representing 4S1M-Yamaha Racing Team, Lopez and Ondillo, pride itself after dominating at the 150cc Underbone King and the 115cc Underbone Riding Mega Force categories.

For this race, 4S1M-Yamaha brought once again its finely-tuned and popular 150cc Sniper motorbikes and 160cc Mio scooterswhich are fully decked with impressive race-spec parts. From its newer 4S1M fuel-injected engines, Replica PRO racing pipes, and Nissin brakes and brake pads, to the custom Racing Boy grips and FDR tires, the team were much well-prepared to tackle the unique challenges posed by the much longer Clark track and the inconsistent weather conditions.

“We spent a lot of time and sleepless nights preparing,” says chief mechanic Joji San Victores, as he oversaw last minute tweaks and tune-ups to the team rides. “We took the lessons from last leg and applied the improvements here,” he continues. This sentiment was echoed by 4S1M-Yamaha’s team manager Ronald Uy who declared his confidence for the current setup of the team’s bikes.


Twenty-six-year old Herbert Lopez, who started racing in 2005, was quick to chime to see a win for 4S1M citing his own personal drive in the victory. “This will serve as motivation to push us to more wins throughout the rest of the season,” exclaimed Lopez.

Meanwhile, the younger nineteen-year-old Mark Djereck Ondillo, who were among the 3 riders that will represent Philippines in the Asia Talent Cup, also finishes second place in the 115CC Underbone Riding Mega Force. The duo mounting the podium for the first time this season will take home trophies and the much-vaunted points towards the season’s tally.

The 3rd Leg of the 2017 Philippine Motorsports Championships is schedule on July 8 to 9 at the Batangas Racing Circuit. The 4S1M-Yamaha Racing Team is powered by BRT and Racing Force.