Round 6 of FlatOut Race Series heats up at BRC 

It’s good to see that local Motorsports are slowly making a new attraction in the country. Whether karting, two-wheel race or the popular circuit racing, Filipinos still have that love for Motorsports.


Good example is the recent 2017 FlatOut Race Series (FORS). Unlike any celebrity race (which are highly publicized), FORS is a typical grassroots race for newbies or future race car drivers who wanted to developed their skills on track.  The race normally runs in two race venue—the Batangas Racing Circuit and Clark International Speedway.

Last August 5, the FlatOut Race Series (FORS) continues to draw crowds after a massive 84-car entry list occupies the racetrack. Bringing home the most number of trophies from the competition is Rafael la O, who emerged victorious in both Brackets A and R time attack sessions where he set a fastest lap of 1:45.739 in the #1 Auto Magic Honda Civic EK.


Meanwhile, Lance Binamira in the BPS Racing Toyota Corolla AE92 was 2nd fastest in Bracket R with his 1:45.828 best. Eduardo Suiza also improved on his previous personal record where he clocked a 1:47.454 lap driving the #200 W-Autosport / Staging Lanes Honda Civic EG. Dondon Portugal joined the group on the podium setting a 1:50.535 in Bracket A.

On Bracket B, Andrew de Asis took home the championship trophy with a best time of 1:56.309. In 2nd was his Blanche Racing teammate Aaron Lao, while Zeb Mendoza finished 3rd.

While on the Bracket C, racers displays a jam-packed race with 10 drivers fight for top honors. But in the end, Carmudi Racing Team Bubi Camus driving his Mazda MX-5 NA took the best time of 1:59.212Sydney Sarmiento returned in a detuned Blanche Racing Honda Integra and managed to claim 2nd in class. Behind him in the time sheets was Iris Nelson Balbin in 3rd.

Ralph Tan has improved on every outing so far, now achieving a 1st place finish in Bracket D. AAP Motorsport Development Program (MSDP) finalist Bernard Michael Santos moved up a class to claim 2nd while Greg Suing was 3rd.


For the grid race, Eduardo Suiza led the early stage but fell behind Dondon Portugal in the Mitsubishi Evolution 7 and Rafael la O’ in the Honda Civic EK. The two battled for 1st place throughout the 12-lap race with la O’ taking the win by a slim 3.735 sec margin. Portugal crossed the line 2nd and Suiza in 3rd. Newcomer from Shane Henderson in a Subaru WRX STI also put in a solid run to finish 4th.

The KYB Grid B race was a head-to-head battle between Blanche Racing teammates Andrew de Asis and Aaron Lao. Sadly, the on track action was short lived after Lao slowed down with a technical problem, handing de Asis the win.

Ethanworx Racing’s Jonmark Ong made a mark on his first FORS outing this year. He dominated the SmartFuels Grid C race, finishing a lap ahead of his nearest rival Paul Santos and Jack Saquilayan who ended the race in 2nd and 3rd, respectively.

It was another win for Ralph Tan in the Recaro Grid D race. He took the chequered flag by 0.855 secs, keeping Greg Suing in 2nd behind him throughout the 10-lap race. Carmudi Racing Team Ronn Cantindig was a further 2.323 secs behind in 3rd.

Meanwhile, Victoriano Edillon and Andre Makkina Tan went down to the finish line. Both drivers put on a great show in Worksbell Grid E where Edillon edged out by a mere 0.082 secs to take the win. Tan was 2nd while Robert Tan in the Toyota Yaris was 3rd.

The FlatOut Race Series (FORS) is schedule on September 9 at the Batangas Racing Circuit.